Home Cricket England won their maiden Cricket World Cup after Super Over Drama

England won their maiden Cricket World Cup after Super Over Drama

ICC World Cup 2019 Winner England
ICC World Cup 2019 Winner England

What a memorable Sunday Night was, for the England team cricket as well as all England fans!!! After 44 long years wait, England team lift the Cricket World Cup 2019 trophy by beating New Zealand in final at Lord’s.

ICC World Cup 2019 final game was played between the World Cup host team England and New Zealand. New Zealand won the toss and decided to bat first. New Zealand team lost early wicket of Martin Guptill, but still, Nicholls and Kane Williamson built a good partnership which took New Zealand team cross 100 runs on the scoreboard.

Furthermore, England bowlers did very well bowling, took wickets on regular intervals, which put pressure on New Zealand batsmen. New Zealand opening batsman Henry Nicholls is the only player who scored a century for New Zealand.

New Zealand wicket-keeper batsman Tom Latham and Captain Kane Williamson both have scored 47 runs and 30 runs respectively. Apart from Nicholls, Latham, and Williamson no other players were able to score 20 runs by which New Zealand just able put only 241 runs on the scoreboard in 50 overs with the loss of 8 wickets at World Cup 2019 big match.

English team’s medium pace bowler Liam Plunkett and all-rounder Chris Woakes came up as surprised pack for England team who picked three wickets each in the final game as well as, Jofra Archer and Mark Wood had picked one wicket each.

England team needed just 242 runs to win the World Cup final. New Zealand bowlers picked early wickets and put pressure on the England team in the big game. England team lost four early wickets in 86 runs at that time New Zealand was looking so strong in the game, but Ben Stokes and Jos Buttler built a fabulous partnership for England. Stokes’ and Buttler’s partnership produced 110 runs which brought back England team in the game. Buttler’s massive 59 runs innings helped England to reach closer to the victory. Unbeaten great innings played by English all-rounder Ben Stokes. He scored 84 runs from 98 balls with a strike rate of 85.71 which included five fours and two sixes.

Stokes’ energetic innings put the thrill in the final game of World Cup 2019 and took the match in the Super Over mode.

In the Super Over game, one more time Buttler and Stokes opened the innings, scored 15 runs for England team. New Zealand team couldn’t manage to chase 16 runs; however, they had equalled the score.

Finally, as per the ICC rules, “If Super Over also ends with a tie, so the winner is typically decided by the number of boundaries scored throughout the match.” Accordingly, to the rule, England had scored more boundaries compared to New Zealand, was declared as the winner of the ICC World Cup 2019. This was the most significant achievement for the England team.

ICC World Cup 2019 Man of the Match - Ben Stokes
ICC World Cup 2019 Man of the Match – Ben Stokes

Ben Stokes was awarded Man of the Match for his massive innings which helped England to win the match as well as became Champion of Cricket World Cup.

ICC World Cup 2019 Player of the tournament - Kane Williamson @World Cup
ICC World Cup 2019 Player of the tournament – Kane Williamson

Sachin Tendulkar had awarded Kane Williamson the Player of the Tournament award for his excellent captaincy throughout the tournament as well as his 578 runs and two wickets.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here