Home Cricket Aussies team announces 17-men’s squad for Ashes 2019

Aussies team announces 17-men’s squad for Ashes 2019

Aussies 17-men's squad for Ashes 2019
Aussies 17-men's squad for Ashes 2019

Australian cricket team has announced 17 men’s squad for Ashes 2019. Ashes series is generally five-match series. The first game will begin on 1 August at Edgbaston.

In 17-men’s squad, Aussies has recalled opening batsman Cameron Bancroft who was banned for the ball-tampering case for nine-month. David Warner and Steve Smith, both will resume playing their first test match after a year-long ban on the ball-tampering.

Trevor Hohns, Chairman of selectors said, “It has been a difficult task to reduce the 25-player squad here in Southampton down to 17 and those who have not made the final Ashes party are all desperately unlucky.”

Further, he added “We have had excellent preparations for this series, with eight players from this squad forming part of Australia A tour that has been in the UK for more than a month, six who took part in the ICC Cricket World Cup, and three who have been playing county cricket. It means the players are acclimatized and ready for the first Test.”

Tim Paine will lead the Aussies team in the test series game. Matthew Wade who has been recalled as back-up wicketkeeper. Alex Carey has been dropped out from Ashes who recently impressed himself in ICC World Cup 2019 by his batting as well as wicketkeeping.

The Aussies team will go with a powerful pace attack including Mitchell Starc, Patrick Cummins, Josh Hazelwood, Michael Neser, James Pattinson. While 34-year Peter Siddle who could appear his fifth Ashes series.

Australia’s Ashes squad:

Tim Paine (c), Cameron Bancroft, Pat Cummins, Marcus Harris, Josh Hazelwood, Travis Head, Usman Khawaja, Marnus Labuschagne, Nathan Lyon, Mitchell Marsh, Michael Neser, James Pattinson, Peter Siddle, Steven Smith, Mitchell Starc, Matthew Wade, David Warner.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here